The attorneys at The Law Offices of John Zarych remain dedicated to our clients during this difficult time. Our office is open and staffed and we are performing free consultations virtually or by phone. If you have been arrested, please do not hesitate to call us.

Atlantic City Forceful Touching Defense Lawyer

If you or a loved one was charged with a sex crime in Atlantic City, you need legal assistance from an experienced, skilled, and dedicated lawyer. The Law Offices of John J. Zarych can help you fight the charges against you.

To learn more about the particular circumstances of your case in a free, confidential consultation, call our law offices today at (609) 641-2266.

Understanding Sex Crimes and Forceful Touching in New Jersey

If you are ever charged with committing a sex crime in New Jersey, you may face some severe penalties. The term “sex crime” encompasses a wide range of sexual offenses, each of which carries its own set of penalties, fines, and time behind bars. If you are convicted of this crime, you will not only face the legal consequences of your actions, but you may be forced to register as a sex offender and suffer the social stigma associated with such label.

Different examples are covered under the sex crime umbrella. Typical examples of sex crimes include child pornography, rape, statutory rape, indecent exposure, lewdness, and other offenses punishable by law. Forceful or forcible touching falls within the “sexual contact” category, and it means sexually touching another person with the intent of having sexual gratification.

The term contact is not limited to physical contact between the offender and the victim. For instance, a person may touch him- or herself in front of the victim to cause sexual arousal. In addition to sexual contact, this action is usually accompanied by the use of force against the victim’s will or without consent.

What Are the Penalties for a Forceful Touching Conviction in New Jersey?

Like other states, New Jersey divides crimes into two categories: misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are also known as disorderly person crimes or petty disorderly person crimes. While these are lesser offenses when compared to other crimes, they still have the potential for jail time and hefty fines. If you are convicted for a disorderly person crime in New Jersey, you may face up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. However, if you are convicted of a petty disorderly person, you may face up to 30 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.

Felonies are a more severe type of crimes which carries heavier penalties for the convicted offender. New Jersey divides felonies into four major categories. We explain each group below:

Fourth-Degree Felonies

Fourth-degree felonies are indictable offenses carrying generally “lesser” penalties compared to the other degrees. Typical examples of fourth-degree felonies include aggravated assault, criminal mischief, shoplifting, and other crimes. If you are convicted of a fourth-degree felony, you may face up to 18 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Third-Degree Felonies

Many felonies fall into the third-degree category. The penalties for a third-degree felony in New Jersey are stringent, and you can face a long time behind bars. If you are convicted for a third-degree crime, you may face up to 5 years in prison and $15,000 in fines. Typical examples of third-degree felonies include heroin possession, burglary, credit card fraud, terroristic threats, and other criminal offenses.

Second-Degree Felonies

Second-degree felony charges are some of the most severe charges you can face. If convicted, you may face up to 10 years in prison and $150,000 in fines, which can scale up to $300,000 depending on the specific situation surrounding your case.

First-Degree Felonies

First-degree felonies are the most severe criminal charges a person can face. Common examples of first-degree felonies include murder, aggravated manslaughter, armed robbery, and other serious crimes. If found guilty, you can face up to 20 years in prison and up to $200,000 in fines.

In New Jersey, forceful or criminal sexual contact is considered a fourth-degree felony. A conviction for this crime not only carries thousands of dollars in fines and prison time, but it will also remain in your criminal record, which can have additional social and financial consequences. A skilled, dedicated, and experienced sex crime defense lawyer can help you through the entire criminal procedure.

Atlantic City Forceful Touching Criminal Defense Lawyer Offering Free Consultations

If you or a loved one was charged with a sex crime in Atlantic City, New Jersey, you need immediate legal assistance. Facing sex crime charges can be an extraordinarily stressful and daunting experience, especially if you have never been involved in a criminal procedure before. Atlantic City criminal defense lawyer John J. Zarych understands the difficulties associated with a felony charge. That is why we dedicate all our efforts to aggressively and strategically defend and uphold your rights as a defendant through the entire process. To learn more about your case in a free, confidential consultation, call The Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 641-2266.