Brigantine DUI DWI Defense Lawyer
Driving while intoxicated due to alcohol, prescription drugs, or illegal street drugs is not only extremely dangerous to yourself and other motorists, it is illegal in the state of New Jersey. Drunk driving carries serious penalties in New Jersey that can result in significant monetary fines, restrictions on your ability to drive, and even possible jail time. Unfortunately, according to statistics provided by the CDC, drunk driving is extremely common.
In 2010 alone, more than 1.4 million drivers were arrested for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated. Clearly, many people do not take the risks of drunk driving seriously. However, part of the reason for this high number of arrests can also be explained by the aggressive enforcement priority placed on DUI by police forces across the nation. While in most cases these actions are a valuable public service and a deterrent to further drunk driving, in some instances innocent individuals are caught-up in the aggressive approach to enforcement.
If you have been charged with a drunk or intoxicated driving in Brigantine, you will face high stakes and an experienced prosecutor. Work with a dedicated and experienced attorney who can advocate on your behalf and fight for you. At the Law Offices of John J. Zarych our DUI defense attorneys have more than 4 decades of combined experience handling DUI charges. We work to ensure that all of your rights were inspected, mistakes were not made. We fight aggressively to protect our clients from the full extent of DUI penalties in New Jersey.
How is DUI Defined In Brigantine Under New Jersey Law?
New Jersey’s law against drunk and intoxicated driving is codified as N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 states that any individual who operates a motor vehicle while “under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant’s blood” is guilty of driving while intoxicated and subject to punishment. It is essential to note that an individual can also be charged for DUI even when his or her BAC is less than 0.08 percent. Likewise, permitting another person to operate a motor vehicle while having a BAC greater than 0.08 percent can also face charges. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a is part of the drunk driving law that mandates punishment for drivers who fail to consent to a blood, breath, or other chemical test for DUI.
What Penalties Can I Face for Drunk Driving in New Jersey?
DUI penalties in New Jersey can result in harsh punishments and conditions on your freedom being imposed. However, the exact consequences you face depend on an array of factors not limited to:
- Is this your first DUI conviction or are you a repeat offender?
- Did you cause an accident?
- Did the accident result in property damage only or was another person hurt or killed?
- The individual’s blood-alcohol-concentration.
- Whether the offense took place on school property.
Upon conviction of a first DUI offense a number of penalties can be imposed. The individual can be imprisoned for up to 30 days, lose his or her license for up to three months, ordered to pay an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years, and ordered to take a minimum of two six-hour days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Penalties become increasingly harsh for repeat offenders and high-BAC offenders. For instance, penalties can be enhanced if the DUI is committed while within a school zone. Furthermore, an offender who registers a BAC of 0.15 percent or greater is required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle during their license suspension and for six months to one year thereafter. All convictions for DUI also include an array of fines such as a Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee, a contribution to the Violent Crimes Compensation Fund, and a contribution to A Safe and Secure Community Program.
Facing Serious DUI Charges in Brigantine?
If you or a loved one are facing serious charges for intoxicated driving, we understand the anxiety and uncertainty you are going through. The experienced and dedicated DUI defense lawyers of the Law Offices of John J. Zarych can fight for you. We have offices in Cape May, Wildwood, Atlantic City, and in Atlantic County. To schedule a free and confidential initial consultation call our firm at (609) 616-4956 today or contact us online.