Hamilton Township Reckless Driving Defense Attorney
If you have ever been pulled over while driving through Hamilton Township, you know that it can be a stressful situation. You may not know why you were pulled over and you are not always sure how to answer the officer’s questions. While there are many reasons why you may be pulled over and given a ticket, a surprisingly common ticket that has very serious consequences is a reckless driving ticket.
If you have been issued a ticket for reckless driving, you should not take it lightly. New Jersey prosecutors have become notoriously aggressive in prosecuting these charges. You need an experienced attorney who has experienced handling New Jersey traffic tickets and defending against reckless driving charges.
Reckless Driving Charges in NJ
Under § 39:4-96 of New Jersey state law, reckless driving is defined as driving in a manner that displays a wanton disregard for the rights, property, and safety of others. If convicted, you face up to 60 days in jail and a fine between $50 and $200. In cases involving excessive speeding, it’s not uncommon for a driver to be ticketed for reckless driving as well. Depending on how fast you were driving, your speeding ticket could result in two, four, or five points against your license — in addition to five points for reckless driving. In New Jersey, your license will be automatically suspended if you accumulate 12 or more points against your driver’s license over a two-year period.
This statute is very similar to another common traffic offense in New Jersey, careless driving. However, the difference between these two traffic offenses for reckless driving the police is alleging that you were intentionally driving recklessly, while careless driving results from unintentional actions. This is very important for drivers to understand that while these two charges are very similar, they are separate offenses, and reckless driving carries a steeper fine and penalty.
- 1st Offense – If you are convicted of reckless driving in Hamilton Township you could face a variety of fines and penalties. Most people are immediately concerned with how much they will have to pay for a ticket. If you are convicted of reckless driving in Hamilton Township then you can expect to pay a fine of up to $200.00 for a first-time conviction. However, because New Jersey considers reckless driving a criminal offense, then a person can be sentenced to spend up to 60 days in jail. Additionally, because a first-time reckless driving charge comes with 5 points, your driver’s license could potentially be suspended.
- 2nd Offense – If you find yourself before the court again for a reckless driving charge, you should not expect the same fines and penalties. A judge is much more likely to impose greater fines and punishments for a second reckless driving charge. In addition to another five points on your drivers license. A second reckless driving conviction can cost you up to $500.00 in fines. Just as a first-time reckless driving conviction can land you in jail for up to 60 days; a second reckless driving conviction can cost you 90 days behind bars.
While some people think that reckless driving is not a serious issue because of how low the fines are, one factor that they are probably not taking into account is the points that are added to your New Jersey Driver’s license after a reckless driving conviction. When points are added to your license it can cause your insurance rates and premiums to go up. Over the course of three years, which is the standard length of time it takes for 5 points to come off of your license, you can expect to pay an additional $5,000 in insurance rates and premiums.
How a New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Help
If you have received a reckless driving ticket, the last thing that you want to do is to go into the courtroom unprepared for what could happen. With the potential of going to jail, losing your license, and fines, it is never a good idea to approach a reckless driving charge lightly. That is why we always recommend working with an attorney who has been serving the community for decades and knows how the system works. An experienced attorney has a wide variety of tools at their disposal to have your charges lessened or even dismissed. If you were pulled over based on the speed you were driving and subsequently given a ticket for reckless driving, it is important to know if the equipment used by police was in proper working order. Often radar guns and other detection systems used by police can be improperly calibrated and may not give an accurate reading on the speed.
Because New Jersey considers reckless driving a criminal offense it is essential that your attorney knows how to utilize all the defenses to this serious charge. Since reckless driving charges often accompany other charges such as driving while intoxicated, if the police do not read you your Miranda Rights, this could serve as a valid defense to any evidence the police would attempt to use against you.
Are You Facing Serious Consequences For Reckless Driving in Hamilton Township?
If you are facing reckless driving charges after spending time in the Atlantic City area, the strategic and experienced lawyers of the Law Firm of John J. Zarych can fight for you. We are experienced in standing up to prosecutors and will pursue a legal strategy that is likely to result in the reduction or elimination of the penalties you face. To schedule a free and confidential initial consultation for your reckless driving ticket or citation call our firm at (609) 616-4956 or contact us online today.