Brigantine Drug Distribution Defense Lawyer
Conviction of a drug crime can carry harsh penalties and a severe social stigma that can prevent you from being presented with certain opportunities you would otherwise have. Formal penalties for the sale of drugs or for drug distribution can result in a lengthy prison sentence and other monetary penalties. Furthermore, a drug conviction can make a person ineligible for federal student aid and federal housing aid. In short, conviction under New Jersey’s drug laws is a life-altering event.
Unfortunately if you are facing drug distribution charges you will be facing an experienced and committed prosecutor.
Prosecutors work day-in and day-out to secure convictions against people for drug and other crimes. In light of the harsh penalties in the state for drug distribution charges, the stakes are simply too high to face an experienced prosecutor alone.
At the Law Offices of John J. Zarych, our criminal defense has more than 45 years of criminal defense experience representing people who are facing serious drug distribution charges in southern New Jersey. When you work with our experienced legal team you can expect a dedicated and strategic defense of your rights and freedoms. Whether you are located in Brigantine or elsewhere in Atlantic or Cape May Counties, we can fight for you. To schedule a confidential, no-charge legal consultation call us at (609) 616-4956 today.
Drug Distribution Defense Lawyers Handle an Array of Criminal Charges
The punishment one can expect to receive for the possession, manufacture, or intent to sell drugs is based on not only the substance in question and its DEA Schedule, but also the quantity of the drugs involved and any mitigating or exacerbating factors. For instance, the sale of drugs in a school zone is a factor that can lead to enhanced penalties. Our attorneys can handle cases involving an array of prescription and street drugs including:
- Anabolic Steroids
- Ectasy (MDMA)
- Prescription painkillers
If you have been charged with manufacturing, selling, or distributing one of the substances listed above or a different drug, our defense team can help.
What Penalties Can I Face For Selling, Growing, or Manufacturing Drugs in New Jersey?
Drug crimes in New Jersey are prosecuted aggressively and, upon conviction, punished severely. The penalties for distribution and manufacture of drugs or possession with intent to distribute (PWID) are significantly more harsh than those merely for simple possession.
For instance the distribution of drugs is a felony in New Jersey although New Jersey uses the term “indictable offense.”Indictable offenses are broken into four degrees depending on the severity of the offense. For a fourth-degree indictable offense one can be sentenced to serve up to 18 months in prison, pay a fine of up to $10,000, or both. A third-degree crime in the state of New Jersey can be punished by a state prison sentence of up to 5 years, a $15,000 fine, or both.
Penalties escalate extremely rapidly for second- and first-degree indictable offenses. A second-degree crime can result in the imposition of a 10 year prison sentence, a fine of $150,000, or both. A first-degree crime – the most serious crime in New Jersey – can, upon conviction, be punished by up to a 20 year prison sentence, $200,000 in fines, or both.
While these penalties are already severe, certain circumstances aside from a school zone can escalate penalties even further. N.J.S.A. § 2C:35-5 (Manufacturing, Distributing or Dispensing) contains a drug kingpin provision. For offenses involving a minimum of 25 pounds of cannabis or a minimum of 5 ounces of methamphetamine or its analog, fines escalate to $300,000.
Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana and Possession of Paraphernalia in New Jersey
Regardless of whether you call it marijuana, cannabis, ganja, or bud the sale of any amount of his drug is illegal in New Jersey and is always an indictable offense. The sale of under 1 ounce of marijuana can result in up to an 18 month prison sentence, a fine of up to $25,000, or both. For any amount from one ounce to five pounds of marijuana up to a five year prison sentence, a $150,000 fine, or both can apply. For sales involving 25 pounds or more of marijuana, a prison sentence of up to 20 years can apply. Penalties can be enhanced if the sale of marijuana was to a minor or a pregnant woman.
Sale of drug paraphernalia is classified as a fourth-degree crime in New Jersey. Individuals who are convicted of possessing such paraphernalia can face a fine of $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison.
Rely on Our Drug Distribution Defense Experience in Brigantine
Facing any type of drug charges is a serious matter. When the charges you face are criminal drug distribution and manufacturing charges, the stakes are particularly high. If you need an experienced criminal defense attorney to stand-up for you and to protect your rights and freedoms, call the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956. We offer free confidential consultations. Se habla español.