If you are charged with reckless driving in Margate you may find yourself before the Margate City Municipal Court. You may think that this little trip to the court will require you to pay a small fine, and maybe hear some stern words from the judge, however, you may be surprised to find that you could be subject to a very large fine, and even be sentenced to jail for a reckless driving ticket.
A reckless driving conviction is a serious traffic infraction that can lead to significant and long-lasting consequences. At the Law Firm of John J. Zarych, we bring over 40 years of combined experience representing New Jersey drivers fighting traffic infractions and reckless driving charges. Call us today at (609) 616-4956 to arrange your free initial consultation.
Facing a Reckless Driving Ticket in Margate?
Reckless Driving means driving a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard for the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger a person or property. N.J.S.A. § 39:4-96.
The key to this charge is that the officer felt that you were operating your vehicle in a manner that is dangerous to others given the circumstances. An example that often confuses many people is when they receive a charge for reckless driving even though they were driving within the speed limit. However, if the road conditions were poor on the day that you were ticketed, the officer may state that while you were driving within the posted speed limit, it was still unsafe for the road conditions. Other examples of reckless driving can include:
- Weaving in and out of lanes
- Disregarding traffic lights and signals
- Improperly operating a vehicle
- Driving too closely behind another car or vehicle
One of the problems facing drivers who have been charged with reckless driving is that their case often turns into a “he said, she said” situation. That is because a reckless driving charge can easily be blown out of proportion and the officer who issued the ticket has a substantial amount of discretion to write tickets for reckless driving.
The Fines and Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in Margate
The fines and penalties for a reckless driving conviction or guilty plea are not something to joke about. Many people assume that because they have a traffic ticket, the only thing that they will have to do is walk into the court pay a fine or two and then go about their day. However, the consequences of a reckless driving conviction can be severe.
A driver who is convicted of reckless driving for the first time can expect to pay a fine. However, this fine may be a lot larger than people expect. A first-time reckless driving conviction can cost a driver anywhere from $50 to $200, which does not include court costs and fees. A second conviction for reckless driving can cost a New Jersey driver anywhere from $50 dollars to $500, which is $300 more than the first charge. While these monetary fines may be frightening, a reckless driving conviction can land you in jail.
Drivers who go to municipal court and enter a guilty plea for reckless driving, or who are convicted can find themselves facing jail time. For a first time reckless driving conviction, a judge can impose up to a 60-day jail sentence. Just as the fine goes up for a second time reckless driving conviction, so does the possible jail time. A driver who is convicted or enters a guilty plea to reckless driving in New Jersey can face up to 90 days in jail.
Our Margate Reckless Driving Defense Attorneys Can Help
If you are facing reckless driving charges after spending time in the Atlantic City area, the strategic and experienced lawyers of the Law Firm of John J. Zarych can fight for you. We are experienced in standing up to prosecutors and will pursue a legal strategy that is likely to result in the reduction or elimination of the penalties you face. To schedule a free and confidential initial consultation for your reckless driving ticket or citation call our firm at (609) 616-4956 or contact us online today.