Criminal charges for a sexual offense are serious regardless of what you are charged with, and therefore from the beginning, you should approach your defense aggressively. Surprisingly, one of the most common sex offenses people are charged within Ventnor is criminal sexual contact and aggravated sexual contact. However, despite how common these charges may be, the consequences should not be taken lightly.
If you are facing aggravated sexual assault charges in New Jersey, you need immediate attention and straight answers from a legal advocate you can trust. The criminal defense lawyers of the Law Offices of John J. Zarych can fight to protect your freedom. Contact a criminal defense lawyer and schedule a free and confidential consultation at the Law Offices of John J. Zarych by calling (609) 616-4956 or contact our firm online.
Criminal Sexual Contact Charges in Ventor, NJ
Criminal sexual contact charges are not something to take lightly. If you are convicted you can potentially be facing jail time, fines, mandatory registration under Megan’s Law as a sex offender, as well as other collateral consequences. However, before you can be charged the state needs to prove that you are in fact guilty of the offense. To charge and convict a person with criminal sexual contact, the state will need to prove that the defendant touched the victim or the victim’s intimate parts with the intention of degrading, humiliating, or inducing sexual arousal in themselves. In addition, the state must prove that there was sexual contact and any one of the following:
The actor used physical force or coercion, but the victim did not sustain severe personal injury;
(2) The victim was on probation or parole, or was detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor had supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional or occupational status;
(3) The victim was at least 16 but was less than 18 years old and:
(a) The actor was related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
(b) The actor had supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or
(c) The actor was a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;
(4) The victim was at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
Notably, this charge shares many similarities with another sexual offense, sexual assault, and therefore it is sometimes charged along with this offense in an effort by prosecutors to convict. The difference between these charges rests on whether or not there was any penetration.
What are the Penalties for Criminal Sexual Contact Charges in Ventor?
Criminal sexual contact is one of the lower sexual criminal offenses in New Jersey and per the language of N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(b), if the state proves all of the elements then you can be convicted of a fourth-degree crime. The potential penalties you may incur as a result of being convicted of criminal sexual contact include a maximum fine of up to $10,000, as well as a prison sentence of up to eighteen (18) months. Furthermore, if the victim was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense and you are convicted of criminal sexual contact you will be required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law.
While these may be some of the penalties that are written into the law, the penalties of society can be much more drastic. Specifically, if you are required to register as s sex offender under Megan’s Law, then you may face many challenges going forward such as finding a job, finding housing, applying for loans, as well as applying for school and vocational programs.
Our Ventor Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Attorneys Can Help
If you do not defend your rights, then you may lose them. A criminal sexual contact charge is a serious matter and something that could potentially ruin your life. When the stakes are set so high, why trust your freedom to just anybody. For over 40 years the attorneys at the Law Firm of John J. Zarych, have been representing New Jersey residents facing the most serious criminal charges.