Gun laws in New Jersey are always changing. As time goes on, more and more restrictions are placed on gun owners. It can be difficult to understand where you can and cannot carry a firearm.
You must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in order to concealed carry any type of firearm outside your home or other property you own in New Jersey. Even if you have a carry permit, there are still locations where you are prohibited from concealed carrying your gun. Furthermore, even with a carry permit, you must ensure that your gun is properly stored when transporting it in your vehicle. Proper storage will involve keeping your firearm in a locked case that is not accessible from your car’s passenger compartment.
Get support from our experienced Atlantic City weapons possession defense attorneys by calling the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956.
Do You Need a Permit to Concealed Carry a Gun in New Jersey?
There are very limited scenarios where you may concealed carry a firearm without a permit in New Jersey. You may be able to concealed carry a firearm while at home or on another piece of private property that you own. However, when transporting your gun, it must be properly stored unless you have a permit to carry a handgun. Proper storage will involve keeping your gun unloaded and in a closed and fastened case. Alternatively, the unloaded gun can be stored in your vehicle’s trunk if the trunk is separate from your passenger compartment.
In all other situations, you will need a permit to carry a handgun if you wish to concealed carry in New Jersey. For example, if you are concealed carrying a gun in a restaurant or gas station, you need to have a permit to carry a handgun.
Still, even if you have a permit to carry a handgun, there are several locations where you are prohibited from concealed carrying your firearm. For instance, you cannot bring your weapon onto federal properties like courthouses, prisons, military bases, national parks, and national monuments. Additionally, you are never allowed to carry a gun into schools, colleges, or universities.
As of 2023, Governor Phil Murphy is attempting to add to the list of banned carry locations and set forth new restrictions on gun ownership. However, there are legal challenges to many of the new regulations. After being accused of a gun crime, you may consult with our South Jersey weapons possession defense lawyers to determine how your case may be affected.
How to Acquire a Concealed Carry Permit in New Jersey
In New Jersey, you will usually need a permit to carry a handgun in order to transport a gun outside of your home. To acquire such a permit, you must submit an application to local law enforcement officers. In addition to being approved by local law enforcement, your application must also be accepted by the court.
The process for submitting an application can be complicated. You will need to offer proof of your familiarity with handguns as well as your ability to operate them safely. Additionally, you must supplement your application with personal references. The fee for applying is usually around $200 and you will usually receive an answer from the government within 90 days.
There are multiple reasons that your application for a carry permit may be rejected. For instance, you may be denied a carry permit if you have a history of alcohol and drug abuse. Further, your application may be rejected if you have committed an act of domestic violence or are a felon. If your application was improperly denied, then you may be able to appeal the decision.
Fighting Charges for Gun Permit Violations in NJ
If you have been charged with a gun permit violation, then there are several defenses you may use.
For one, you may challenge a violation by asserting that a search performed during your traffic stop was improper.
Furthermore, you may be able to defend against a gun permit violation by challenging a bad warrant or asserting there was a lack of warrant. If an officer located your firearm during a search that was performed without probable cause and without a valid warrant, then you may be able to avoid criminal penalties.
Lastly, you may be able to avoid a gun permit violation by asserting that you were carrying your weapon between authorized locations. For example, if you can prove that you were transporting your gun from your home to a gun range and following all requirements for safety and storage, then you may avoid persecution for not having a carry permit.
Can Business Owners Prohibit You from Concealed Carrying a Gun in New Jersey?
Private business owners in New Jersey have the right to ban firearms from their premises. Even if a business is open to the public, its owner can prohibit you from carrying a firearm onto their property. While it is not required by law, business owners who ban weapons should post signs indicating such. If the business owner allows guns on their premises, you will likely still need a carry permit in order to bring a firearm on their property.
Can Your Employer Prevent You From Concealed Carrying a Gun at Work in New Jersey?
Employers also have the right to ban weapons from the workplace in New Jersey. This prohibition can also extend to businesses’ parking lots if they own the lots at issue. Some states have passed laws that restrict employers’ abilities to ban weapons. However, as of 2023, it is unlikely that such a law will be passed in New Jersey in the near future.
Defendants in Weapons Possession Cases in New Jersey Can Call Our Law Firm for Assistance
If you have been charged with a gun crime, seek support and guidance from our experienced Brigantine weapons possession defense lawyers by calling the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956.