If you or a loved one have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, you need immediate legal representation. If you are convicted of drunk driving, you could face severe consequences. Turn to the counsel of an experienced lawyer who knows and understands how DUI laws work.
To learn more about your case in a free, confidential consultation, call The Law Offices of John J. Zarych today at (609) 616-4956.
DUI Charges Our Lawyers Can Handle
Being charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) can lead to severe consequences, especially if there are aggravating factors surrounding your case. Every year, thousands of people are injured in DUI-related car accidents, truck accidents, motorcycle accidents, and other vehicular crashes. New Jersey strictly prohibits operating a vehicle while under the effects of alcohol. As such, the state has imposed harsh rules to punish drunk drivers for their wrongdoing. Therefore, it is best to have skilled, knowledgeable, and experienced legal representation by your side. Some of the DUI charges our New Jersey DUI lawyers can handle include:
- High BAC (Breath Alcohol Concentration) charges
- Breathalyzer refusals
- Repeat DUI offenses
- Underage DUI
- DUI/DWI charges
The Law Offices of John J. Zarych have the knowledge, experience, and skill to help you against your DUI charges in New Jersey.
Are You Facing DUI Charges in New Jersey?
If you have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, you can face severe legal consequences. The state has stringent laws limiting the amount of alcohol a person can have in their system when operating a vehicle. For instance, if you are pulled over by a police officer and your BAC is higher than .08%, you can be placed under arrest and charged with a DUI.
However, the BAC limits set forth by state law can be harsher for some types of drivers. According to New Jersey law, truck drivers cannot operate their vehicles if their BAC is .04% or higher. Furthermore, if you are under the age of 21, you cannot have a BAC of .02%.
There is little room for error when it comes to DUI laws within the state. If you are a commercial truck driver or teen charged with DUI, having a legal representation by your side can make the difference between enjoying a normal life and facing all the consequences associated with your charges.
DUI Penalties, Fines & License Suspension
If you are found guilty of a DUI, you may face several penalties. These state-imposed punishments can affect your everyday life and carry long-lasting consequences. The extent and severity of your penalties will depend on whether you are a repeat offender. The criminal penalties for a DUI in New Jersey can be divided as follows:
First DUI Offense
Sentence: Up to 30 days in jail
Fines: Up to $500
License Suspension: Up to 1 year
Second DUI Offense
Sentence: Up to 3 months
Fines: Up to $1,000
License Suspension: 2 years
Third DUI Offense
Sentence: Up to 6 months
License Suspension: 10 years
As you can see, the consequences of multiple DUI convictions can lead to the suspension of your license for up to 10 years. Additionally, you may have to pay different surcharges separate from any imposed fine. For instance, you may have to pay surcharges for things such as municipality fee, motor vehicle restoration fee, intoxicated driving program fee, and other surcharges. These surcharges can translate to hundreds of additional dollars that you may have to pay.
How Can a DUI Lawyer Help?
Having skilled and experienced legal representation by your side can help you challenge your DUI charges or even have your charges dropped. Our knowledgeable DUI lawyers can help you contest your drunk driving charges by:
- Challenging your breathalyzer test results
- Challenging the legality of your detention
- Challenging the legality of a blood test
- Taking your case to trial
Being charged with a DUI does not mean you will automatically face the consequences associated with the crime. That is why it is of the utmost importance to retain the services of a skilled lawyer who can challenge the legality surrounding your charges. Imagine you are pulled over by a cop who asks you to take a breathalyzer test. The test results show you have a BAC over the legal limit. A skilled lawyer can help you challenge your charges by proving that the breathalyzer was defective or was not calibrated correctly according to law.
New Jersey DUI Attorney Offering Free Consultations
The consequences of a DUI can be devastating whether you are a first or repeat offender. The legal, financial, and social impacts associated with a DUI conviction can turn your life upside down. Don’t let a criminal charge be the end of the road for you. Turn to the professional, dedicated, aggressive legal counsel of New Jersey criminal defense lawyer John J. Zarych. To discuss your case in a free, confidential consultation, call The Law Offices of John J. Zarych today at (609) 616-4956.