When a person is held in custody in New Jersey for an alleged crime, he or she can generally be released to freedom by posting a payment called bail.  Bail for every crime is different, and even the same crime can have different bail amounts for different defendants, depending on the details of the offense being charged.  In an effort to help clear up the confusion that can be caused by New Jersey’s complex bail schedule, our Atlantic City aggravated assault attorneys have listed out the possible bail amounts for various aggravated assault charges in New Jersey.

Bail for Felony (Indictable) Aggravated Assault Offenses in New Jersey

Aggravated assault can have various bail amounts depending on the details of the alleged incident.  Find the appropriate charge below to see what sort of bail amount you can expect if your loved one is in custody.  You may also be interested in our articles on:

atlantic city criminal defense lawyer

Enhanced Simple Assault Crimes

Felonies in New Jersey are called indictable crimes.  Aggravated assault is an indictable crime.  Indictable crimes are split into four groups: fourth degree crimes (which are, comparatively, the least serious), third degree crimes, second degree crimes, and first degree crimes. The same crime can be charged in varying degrees depending on the circumstances of the offense. If you or a loved one has been charged with aggravated sexual assault defense, it is imperative to contact an experienced NJ aggravated assault defense attorney immediately to discuss your best options.

  • Fourth Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1d
    • Description — Simple assault against an institutionalized person at least 60 years old, committed by a person employed at the institution, whether public or private.
    • Bail Amount — $2,500 to $5,000
  • Fourth Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1f
    • Description — Simple assault at a school or community-run sports event, committed in the presence of a child aged 15 or younger.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Fourth Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(5)
    • Description — Simple assault against a police officer, firefighter, EMT, bus driver, teacher, or judge.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Third Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(5)
    • Description — Simple assault against a police officer, firefighter, EMT, bus driver, teacher, or judge, resulting in bodily injury.
    • Bail Amount — $5,000 to $15,000

Aggravated Assault Charges Involving Weapons

  • Third Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(2)
    • Description — Causing, or attempting to cause, bodily injury using a deadly weapon.
    • Bail Amount — $20,000 to $50,000
  • Fourth Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(3)
    • Description — Reckless causation of physical injury with a deadly weapon.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Fourth Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(4)
    • Description — Knowingly pointing a firearm at another person “under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life,” whether or not the defendant thought the gun was actually loaded.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Third Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(9)
    • Description — Pointing a weapon at a police officer knowingly and under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life.
    • Bail Amount — $50,000 to $75,000

DUI DWI sobriety tests lawyer nj

Aggravated Assault with DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) and Reckless Driving

  • Fourth Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(1)
    • Description — Causing serious injury through reckless driving.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Fourth Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(2)
    • Description — Causing bodily injury by driving while intoxicated (DWI) or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
    • Bail Amount — $1,000 to $2,500
  • Third Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(2)
    • Description — Causing serious bodily injury by driving while intoxicated or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
    • Bail Amount — $5,000 to $15,000
  • Fourth Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(4)
    • Description — Deliberate aggressive driving targeting another vehicle, resulting in bodily injury.
    • Bail Amount — $10,000 to $25,000
  • Third Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(4)
    • Description — Deliberate aggressive driving targeting another vehicle, resulting in serious bodily injury.
    • Bail Amount — $15,000 to $35,000
  • Third Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(3)
    • Description — Causing injury while in a designated school zone (within 1,000 feet of school property), or “while driving through [a] non-designated school crossing, and knowing that juveniles are present,” by committing DWI or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
    • Bail Amount — $5,000 to $15,000
  • Second Degree, by Auto or Vessel
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1c(3)
    • Description — Causing serious injury while in a designated school zone, or while driving through [a] non-designated school crossing despite knowing that juveniles are present, by committing DWI or refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test.
    • Bail Amount — $20,000 to $50,000

Other Charges Under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b

  • Third Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(7)
    • Description — Deliberate causation of significant bodily injury, or recklessly causing significant bodily injury under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life.
    • Bail Amount — $15,000 to $35,000
  • Second Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(1)
    • Description — Deliberate causation or attempted causation of serious injury, or reckless causation of injury under circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life.
    • Bail Amount — $35,000 to $100,000
  • Second Degree
    • Charge — N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(6)
    • Description — Injuring another person while eluding the police or unlawfully commandeering another person’s vehicle.
    • Bail Amount — $20,000 to $50,000

If you or one of your family members was arrested for aggravated assault by auto in Atlantic County or Cape May County, call an Atlantic City criminal defense attorney of the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956 to set up a free legal consultation today.