Being convicted of drug distribution in Cape May County can negatively impact the rest of your life. The state of New Jersey enforces some of the nation’s toughest penalties for drug crimes, and having a criminal record attached to your name can be a serious obstacle to finding employment and housing. When you’re facing years in prison and tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines, you need to protect yourself with aggressive legal support from a knowledgeable and experienced criminal defense attorney.
At the Law Offices of John J. Zarych, our legal team combines more than 45 years of practical experience representing defendants who have been charged with drug sales in Cape May County. We will guide you through the court system, provide you with clear explanations of your potential options, and fight relentlessly to protect your rights and preserve your freedoms. Our legal team handles cases throughout Cape May County, including Lower, Middle, and Upper Township, Dennis Township, Ocean City, Wildwood, Woodbine, and Sea Isle City.
When the charges against you are this serious, it is critical to move quickly to start building a strong defense. If you or your loved one was arrested, don’t wait another day to get legal help from a respected law firm. To set up your free consultation, call the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956 today. We will keep your information confidential.
Drug Crimes Our Attorneys Handle
The DEA, or Drug Enforcement Administration, uses drug schedules to classify narcotics into five numbered categories. As the number decreases in size, the penalties associated with the drug tend to become more severe. Prescription drugs appear in various categories.
Our attorneys have decades of experience handling drug distribution cases involving a wide variety of scheduled substances, including but not limited to the following:
LSD (Lysergic Acid Diethylamide)
What Are the Penalties for Sales and Distribution in New Jersey?
Crimes involving controlled substances are penalized harshly in the state of New Jersey. Drug distribution, or possession with intent to distribute (PWID), is an even more serious offense than simple possession (possession for personal use only). Sales and distribution offenses are classified as indictable crimes, which are equivalent to felonies in other jurisdictions. Offenses are graded based on the quantity and type/schedule of drug involved. New Jersey grades indictable crimes by degree, as follows:
Fourth Degree Crimes
Fine – $10,000
Sentence – 18 months
Third Degree Crimes
Fine – $15,000
Sentence – 5 years
There’s an enormous jump in penalties as the severity of a crime increases from the third degree to the second degree. The maximum fine increases by $135,000 while the maximum sentence increases by five years. From the second degree to the first degree, maximum fines increase by $50,000 while the maximum sentence increases by a full decade.
Second Degree Crimes
Fine – $150,000
Sentence – 10 years
First Degree Crimes
Fine – $200,000
Sentence – 20 years
As large as these fines are, they can climb even higher for certain offenses related to the production and sale of narcotics. For instance, under N.J.S.A. § 2C:35-5 (Manufacturing, Distributing or Dispensing), a convicted offender can be fined up to $300,000 for offenses involving at least 25 pounds of marijuana or at least five ounces of methamphetamine or its analog. Sale of drug paraphernalia is a fourth degree crime in New Jersey, subject to a fine of $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison. Paraphernalia includes bongs, pipes, roach clips, needles, spoons, and other devices used to prepare or ingest controlled substances.
Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana
The distribution or sale of marijuana (cannabis) is subject to special fines and penalties under New Jersey law. All marijuana sale offenses are graded as indictable crimes. The criminal penalties for marijuana distribution in Cape May County are outlined below:
Under 1 oz
Fine – $25,000
Sentence – Up to 18 months
1 oz or more, but less than 5 lbs
Fine – $25,000
Sentence – Up to 5 years
5 lbs or more, but less than 25 lbs
Fine – $150,000
Sentence – Up to 10 years
25 lbs or more
Fine – $300,000
Sentence – Up to 20 years
If the crime takes place within a designated school zone (within 1,000 feet of a school building, school playground, or school bus), the penalties are enhanced: up to five years in prison, plus a maximum fine of $150,000. Penalties are also enhanced for sales or distribution to minors or to women who are pregnant.
If you were arrested for selling drugs in Cape May County, or if your loved one has been incarcerated, you need an experienced drug lawyer fighting in your corner. Call the Law Offices of John J. Zarych at (609) 616-4956 to start discussing your legal options in a free and completely confidential case evaluation. Se habla español.